(PRODUCTION Q!)

Seek advice, post tracks, help others, discuss studio hardware and software - from studio pros to beginners, all are welcome...

Moderators: Plexus, jimmy brayks, NSB Mods

User avatar
Anti-science
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2143
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

(PRODUCTION Q!)

Post by Anti-science » Thu Jul 27, 2006 12:44 pm

I have just discovered that running my 'Software' synth bass thru the optical compressor & 'tube sound' of my 'Focusrite - Voice master pro' can add a bit of warmth and life to the sound as well as making it sound more full & rounded! :)

So.. anyone got any similer techniques for using abit of kit differently to how you originally intended to use it???
BLista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 46065
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:37 am

Post by BLista » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:08 pm

Yeah, i've found the cd tray on my tower makes a cracking pint glass holder.

Which is just about all my pc will cope with now. I think it's dying :(
Capo-wear-I
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2129
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Capoeira Towers

Post by Capo-wear-I » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:20 pm

When you get to yr new flat, do the 'drop it out of window' performance test.

That should sort the problem out for good. :lol:
BLista
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 46065
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2006 11:37 am

Post by BLista » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:28 pm

I'm genuinely thinking of doing an insurance job.... :chin:

(sorry to hijack your thread science)
User avatar
nectarios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:38 am
Location: breakin in the malls, breakin in the streets

Post by nectarios » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:37 pm

Been doing that for 4 years. Soft synths through the Joemeek SC2.2 sound 1000xbetter.
User avatar
shapshankly
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3907
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 7:38 pm
Location: Nottingham Breaks City
Contact:

Post by shapshankly » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:44 pm

i do the same through all sorts, focusrite comp/pre, line 6 pod, behringer comp (gasp) aphex, whatever guitar pedals are knocking around....
Sir Shap Shankly (esq)
Myspace here

Image

"You know what you're doing with a knob" - Merka 2007
Capo-wear-I
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2129
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Capoeira Towers

Post by Capo-wear-I » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:48 pm

Blista wrote:I'm genuinely thinking of doing an insurance job.... :chin:

(sorry to hijack your thread science)
LOL :lol:

Yeah - sorry Anti 8)

Anyway - yeah

Hardware tips

Hmm....

I find it's tricky to intergreate it into my setup at the moment...

....seeing as I've sold pretty much all of it.

Next I'll sell my speakers

Then my Amp

Then my keyboard

Then my Computer

I'm going acoustic breaks, man :oops:
User avatar
Tarekith
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4511
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 1:21 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:27 pm

Before you do a mixdown, try exporting/rendering any softsynth parts as 24/96kHz files, then downsample to 44.1 or whatever SR you use.

I don't know why, but softsynths tend to sound better at 96kHz, even if you later convert them to a lower SR.
InnerPortalStudio.com Electronic Music Mastering & Mixdowns. Click for details!
User avatar
Anti-science
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2143
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Anti-science » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:29 pm

nec wrote:Been doing that for 4 years. Soft synths through the Joemeek SC2.2 sound 1000xbetter.
Yeah sure, I have been using outborad compressors, eq & fx for years aswell but my main point was the Voice master pro is a channel strip designed for Vocals not storming reece basslines!!! ;) but it worked better on the synth bass than i imagined it would. It added a nice bit of...umm..what was it...???? :lol:


Whats Joemeek stuff like, seen it loads but never tryed it.

STOP HIJACKIN' MY POST! :evil:


:D
User avatar
scwiffy
Addicted to NSB
Addicted to NSB
Posts: 1411
Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2005 1:42 pm
Location: Brighton & London @ the same time!!!(in rahzel voice)

Post by scwiffy » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:29 pm

^

yeah, acoustic breaks are the way forward. I find my stomach rumbles make a great warp bass. Heart for the kick drum and farts for the snare. just put aload of mics to all my body parts and ill set the club off.
User avatar
Anti-science
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2143
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Anti-science » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:32 pm

Tarekith wrote:Before you do a mixdown, try exporting/rendering any softsynth parts as 24/96kHz files, then downsample to 44.1 or whatever SR you use.

I don't know why, but softsynths tend to sound better at 96kHz, even if you later convert them to a lower SR.

Now thats intresting. Can you really tell alot of difference between them?

8)
User avatar
Tarekith
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4511
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2005 1:21 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Post by Tarekith » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:43 pm

Define "a lot" :)

Try it, I was skeptical too, as generally there's VERY little audible difference between a 44.1 and 96kHz audio file. But for some reason setting the VSTi to use 96, then exporting and downsampling to 44.1 has a pretty audible difference.

My guess is the higher SR (96) pushes any remaining aliasing artifacts out of the audible bandwidth, and then these are subsequently filtered out almost completely when downsampling to 44.1.
InnerPortalStudio.com Electronic Music Mastering & Mixdowns. Click for details!
Capo-wear-I
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2129
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 1:50 pm
Location: Capoeira Towers

Post by Capo-wear-I » Thu Jul 27, 2006 2:54 pm

It's all about aliasing - with something like Reactor you can change the internal sample rate from 11Khz all the way up to 192Khz (I think!). Higher usually sounds better, but at a massive CPU increase.

At 44.1 Khz you do notice that the top end is ever so slightly more brittle than at higher rates, esecially on very high synth sounds.

Doesn't seem to make much difference to bass sounds (don't produce higher frequencies?) - I can sometimes get away with reducing the sample rate (32Khz or less ) on my reactor bass sounds if the computer is stuggling with other tasks. Sometimes the dirty Lo-fi sample rates sound good as an effect anyway..
User avatar
nectarios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:38 am
Location: breakin in the malls, breakin in the streets

Post by nectarios » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:04 pm

Anti-science wrote:
nec wrote:Been doing that for 4 years. Soft synths through the Joemeek SC2.2 sound 1000xbetter.
Yeah sure, I have been using outborad compressors, eq & fx for years aswell but my main point was the Voice master pro is a channel strip designed for Vocals not storming reece basslines!!! ;) but it worked better on the synth bass than i imagined it would. It added a nice bit of...umm..what was it...???? :lol:


Whats Joemeek stuff like, seen it loads but never tryed it.

STOP HIJACKIN' MY POST! :evil:


:D
I have two Joemeeks, a SC2.2 (which I am selling by the way) and a VC1Qcs that is supposed to be a voice channels as well. I've recorded everything but vocals through that and it sounds great. Every part from my modular synth is recorded through that.
User avatar
Anti-science
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2143
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Anti-science » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:16 pm

nec wrote:
Anti-science wrote:
nec wrote:Been doing that for 4 years. Soft synths through the Joemeek SC2.2 sound 1000xbetter.
Yeah sure, I have been using outborad compressors, eq & fx for years aswell but my main point was the Voice master pro is a channel strip designed for Vocals not storming reece basslines!!! ;) but it worked better on the synth bass than i imagined it would. It added a nice bit of...umm..what was it...???? :lol:


Whats Joemeek stuff like, seen it loads but never tryed it.

STOP HIJACKIN' MY POST! :evil:


:D
I have two Joemeeks, a SC2.2 (which I am selling by the way) and a VC1Qcs that is supposed to be a voice channels as well. I've recorded everything but vocals through that and it sounds great. Every part from my modular synth is recorded through that.
Fairplay mate, I record everything thru either a focusrite mixmaster (fuckin' love this!) or a TL audio eq or the voicemaster.

I love softsynths but you gottta use abit of quality outboard to really bring them out. :) I watn a manley compressor really, Just for the drums! ;)
User avatar
nectarios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:38 am
Location: breakin in the malls, breakin in the streets

Post by nectarios » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:19 pm

Manley Slam? They're supposed to be great for drums. If you find one, go for it.
User avatar
dom
Poster-lite
Poster-lite
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:12 pm
Location: Guildford
Contact:

Post by dom » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:41 pm

i have fun stickin things thru the audio in on my SCI pro one, then crackin the gain on it, get wicked solid state disortions :)
User avatar
Anti-science
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2143
Joined: Mon Apr 24, 2006 5:38 pm
Location: UK
Contact:

Post by Anti-science » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:51 pm

dom wrote:i have fun stickin things thru the audio in on my SCI pro one, then crackin the gain on it, get wicked solid state disortions :)
See, this is the kind of stuff im talking about! :)

What is a SCI Pro? :?
User avatar
nectarios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:38 am
Location: breakin in the malls, breakin in the streets

Post by nectarios » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:54 pm

Image
Phat mono synth from Sequential Circuits. I fitted the CEM 3340 VCO and CEM 3320 filter (and SSM 2044 for the P5 patches) filter, as well as 4x CEM3310 ADSRs on my modular so I can get that sound.
Last edited by nectarios on Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dom
Poster-lite
Poster-lite
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:12 pm
Location: Guildford
Contact:

Post by dom » Thu Jul 27, 2006 3:58 pm

shame about the keyboard tho, just as well mine got kenton midi converison.

you can hear it as the bass on the 1st 2 tracks on my myspace

its got a sequencer on it, but it doesnt power up (apart from this one time during a thunder storm - seriosuly) any ideas nec?
Last edited by dom on Thu Jul 27, 2006 4:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Post Reply