Favourite Sequencer Short Cut

Seek advice, post tracks, help others, discuss studio hardware and software - from studio pros to beginners, all are welcome...

Moderators: Plexus, jimmy brayks, NSB Mods

User avatar
high eight
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 6538
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 3:09 pm
Location: ...and even a bear!
Contact:

Post by high eight » Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:19 pm

Cheers boys! :D
User avatar
AG4III
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2483
Joined: Thu Jan 08, 2004 4:04 pm
Location: Sherwood Forest

Post by AG4III » Thu Nov 03, 2005 2:54 pm

This could be good on a shortcut tip

[url]http://www.artlebedev.com/portfolio/optimus/
User avatar
Kickflip
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 5037
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 6:04 pm
Location: the dance settee

Post by Kickflip » Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:00 pm

Hi-Fi by Design wrote:what arrangements of screensets do you find most useful? I only have one for the arrange page, one for mixer environment and one for matrix/hyper edit (for anal midi cc programming) but I think I'm probably missing out on this feature.
I usually always have the arrange page on the left monitor, and the right monitor has matrix, mixer or both. I also have one that has a mixer on both screens, but the right hand side doesn't have link activated and stays at the bus section, which is pretty handy for mixing with subgroups. I'm also playing with a screenset that has Battery's main window on one screen for tweaking the drum kit/pattern, but I've not found a way of fitting the arrange, matrix and mixer in there that I'm comfortable with yet.

Actually, I made most of my screensets before I was aware that you can control and click on an option in the Window menu to get a floating window... needs to be explored more. Will be handy for peeps with dual monitors of different sizes.

There's also a sweet idea I found on Dogs on Acid where you have an arrange page on each screen, but one is zoomed in really far with link activated, so wherever you click on the zoomed out arrange page, the right monitor shows a close up! Very useful for automation tweaks ;) Another DOA tip is to turn off the parameters for a mixer window, and make it really thin. Put it next to the arrange page (or wherever), and pretend you have Logic 6 for PC! :D
User avatar
nectarios
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 9497
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2003 10:38 am
Location: breakin in the malls, breakin in the streets

Post by nectarios » Thu Nov 03, 2005 3:44 pm

A mouse with a wheel is a must for Logic!
Also, select a big audio region, and with the scissors tool, right click a 16th (or whatever else) in after the start of the region and will chop the rest of the region in 16ths (whatever). After that hold Ctrl down and drag one of the regions (since all of them are selected/press Ctrl or Ctrl+shift to fine tune the lenght) from the top corner (if you are viewing the automation lines, or bottom corner if you are not viewing the automation lines), let go and you've chopped the region to your desired small regions in seconds.
TakeRecords
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2130
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: London, Amsterdam

Post by TakeRecords » Thu Nov 03, 2005 4:56 pm

Kickflip wrote: There's also a sweet idea I found on Dogs on Acid where you have an arrange page on each screen, but one is zoomed in really far with link activated, so wherever you click on the zoomed out arrange page, the right monitor shows a close up! Very useful for automation tweaks
this sounds really useful. I'm going to see if i can do this on cubase.
Image
Hi-Fi by Design
Regular Reader
Regular Reader
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 11:38 pm
Location: Hammersmith, London, UK
Contact:

Post by Hi-Fi by Design » Thu Nov 03, 2005 10:09 pm

^^yeah thats sweet but not much use to me as ive only got one screen :(
Image
User avatar
shapshankly
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 3907
Joined: Mon Jul 26, 2004 7:38 pm
Location: Nottingham Breaks City
Contact:

Post by shapshankly » Thu Nov 03, 2005 11:49 pm

Hi-Fi by Design wrote:^^yeah thats sweet but not much use to me as ive only got one screen :(
you were asking for help to spend your 15 grand, i think there is your answer for at least some of that money.

you plank. :fool:
Sir Shap Shankly (esq)
Myspace here

Image

"You know what you're doing with a knob" - Merka 2007
SubtleGestures
Addicted to NSB
Addicted to NSB
Posts: 1402
Joined: Fri Jul 23, 2004 3:44 pm

Post by SubtleGestures » Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:27 am

fuk u
Last edited by SubtleGestures on Fri Nov 04, 2005 7:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
dopamine
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4222
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Xander Crews Mansion

Post by dopamine » Fri Nov 04, 2005 4:52 am

hehe, didn't think anyone would actually fall for that :lol:
TakeRecords
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2130
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: London, Amsterdam

Post by TakeRecords » Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:31 am

Hi-Fi by Design wrote:^^yeah thats sweet but not much use to me as ive only got one screen :(
i only have room for one screen but i figured i could switch between the two different views really quickly
Image
User avatar
El Huracan
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 21808
Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 3:10 pm
Location: Trollpatrol

Post by El Huracan » Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:50 am

apple key and everything. i harldy use the mouse. the other half of steelz always thinks im just showing off!
User avatar
dopamine
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 4222
Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 5:33 am
Location: Xander Crews Mansion

Post by dopamine » Fri Nov 04, 2005 10:57 am

SubtleGestures wrote:fuk u
Dude, you must be really insecure if you can't leave stuff like that up on a discussion board. It was a joke, pretty harmless. Cubase wouldn't instantly close a session if you had made any changes to your session without asking you if you wanted to save first.

Build a bridge. ;)

matt
TakeRecords
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2130
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: London, Amsterdam

Post by TakeRecords » Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:09 pm

dopamine wrote:
SubtleGestures wrote:fuk u
Dude, you must be really insecure if you can't leave stuff like that up on a discussion board. It was a joke, pretty harmless. Cubase wouldn't instantly close a session if you had made any changes to your session without asking you if you wanted to save first.

Build a bridge. ;)

matt
what's going on here?!
Image
TakeRecords
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2130
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 6:21 pm
Location: London, Amsterdam

Post by TakeRecords » Fri Nov 04, 2005 1:11 pm

i don't believe for a second that chris would have fallen for that shortcut!
Image
User avatar
blimbo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2790
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 12:06 pm
Location: Hunting the Jaguar shark

Post by blimbo » Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:13 pm

more Logic things:

shift-tab - lengthen midi note to end of selection/start of next note
ctrl-shift-enter - make new track with next instrument

but yeah ctrl-z and ctrl-s are the most important of all!
User avatar
blimbo
Forum Veteran
Forum Veteran
Posts: 2790
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 12:06 pm
Location: Hunting the Jaguar shark

Post by blimbo » Fri Nov 04, 2005 2:16 pm

and as hi-fi said, key commands are very handy - ctrl-alt-k
Post Reply