Page 1 of 2

logic or cubase?

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:37 pm
by Jung
i kinda figure i'm going to need to learn one of them inside out this year, but i dont want to buy one only to realise i should have gone with the other. and so i just want people to vote, and try and persaude me to go with one and not the other. you've got a week to vote.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:44 pm
by Hedflux
Probably best to ask someone who knows both programs intimately. Most of us mortals only know one of them, and thats obviously what we'd vote for!

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 4:50 pm
by TechMoses
The question may as well be "do you own a PC or a Mac?"

If you have a Mac, get Logic.

If you have a PC, get Cubase (or Sonar).

Unless you don't mind using older or more buggy versions of software.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 5:00 pm
by zooloo
TechMouse wrote:The question may as well be "do you own a PC or a Mac?"

If you have a Mac, get Logic.

If you have a PC, get Cubase (or Sonar).

Unless you don't mind using older or more buggy versions of software.
agreed... they both do the same thing anyhow.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 5:01 pm
by Jung
it depends how buggy logic five is?

and could people just vote for what they like, regardless of whether they've even used the other

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 5:11 pm
by blimbo
I use Logic 5 on a PC... it is a bit buggy, but I get by.

I've used Logic 6 on a Mac and there's still a few bugs in that too.

:?:

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 5:21 pm
by Hedflux
never found bugs in SX 2, but then i probably dont use it to its full capacity.

Learning a whole new sequencer is just such a daunting thought. The only way i would learn logic is through working with someone who uses it, i'd never just do it myself. Cubase does everything i need from it and i'm always learning new things.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 5:58 pm
by SometimesSean
Been using cubase since 3.something and have trided logic but couldn't get into the interface, probably cus I was so used to cubase, but then sx was a new learning curve.

Personaly I say Cubase though. But you should choose which ever program is gonna be easiest to use for your ability.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:31 pm
by grum
TechMouse wrote:The question may as well be "do you own a PC or a Mac?"

If you have a Mac, get Logic.

If you have a PC, get Cubase (or Sonar).

Unless you don't mind using older or more buggy versions of software.
yep

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:46 pm
by ACME
You already have Live 4 and know jow to use it, am I right?
then get a shitload of plug-ins and stick with that.

It does what the others do.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 6:55 pm
by Jung
i know fruityloops inside out, like literally. but i want to start learning another sequencer as people constantly tell me that cubase and logic are so much better. so i kind of figured i'd try them out. which would be the best if i know fruityloops?

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:06 pm
by ACME
jung wrote:i know fruityloops inside out, like literally. but i want to start learning another sequencer as people constantly tell me that cubase and logic are so much better. so i kind of figured i'd try them out. which would be the best if i know fruityloops?
I don't know fruityloops... but Ableton Live is probably the most similar. You can get it with an educational discount, it's available for mac and pc. and it's great really.

If you have a pc, i don't recommend buying Logic, support is non-existant for windows users.
So you could get it kraked.
If you'd plan on buying a mac, then it would be a different story.

And, finally... don't believe the hype.
Everyone will tell you a different story... try them and choose the one you like more.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:27 pm
by Walter Odington
I think the main question I would ask myself if it was me is: what is more stable?

Cubase SX or Logic 5 PC?

I dont kow the answer, but having used cracks in the past I would say stability is the biggest issue.

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:37 pm
by Jung
well i wasn't planning on buying something i've never used. and so i've got a cracked version of sx2 and logic 5

logic seems stable, but i dont even get how to connect a vst to a midi channel, whereas i do in cubase. but cubase crashes a lot. i guess it's just because it's cracked. i will buy next month on pay day 8)

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2005 7:59 pm
by Walter Odington
open the environment and select an audio instrument track. these are your VSTi jobbys. when you select it the details for that track should come up in the left of the environment. If it doesn't in the drop down menus select view>details. On these details there should be a whole load of crap including the MIDI channel.

hope that works!

Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:34 am
by nectarios
Logic

Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:29 am
by TechMoses
ACME wrote:I don't know fruityloops... but Ableton Live is probably the most similar. You can get it with an educational discount, it's available for mac and pc. and it's great really.

If you have a pc, i don't recommend buying Logic, support is non-existant for windows users.
So you could get it kraked.
If you'd plan on buying a mac, then it would be a different story.

And, finally... don't believe the hype.
Everyone will tell you a different story... try them and choose the one you like more.
From what I understand, Ableton is the way forward.

Does everything you could want & more compositionally, in a much easier and more intuitive way. Plus, if you're proper anal you can always rewire it into Cubase / Logic for mastering.

Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:53 am
by porrig
jung wrote:i know fruityloops inside out, like literally. but i want to start learning another sequencer as people constantly tell me that cubase and logic are so much better. so i kind of figured i'd try them out. which would be the best if i know fruityloops?
HAve you used the new fruity loops yet? All the reviews have been pretty good. Do you not fancy trying that too?

Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:08 pm
by TakeRecords
what's the deal with this logic plugin delay compensation thing i keep on hearing about?

even though i use cubase to be honest from speaking to professionals it seems logic is the way to go if starting from scratch.

I've been using cubase since 1994 though so it doesn't really make any sense for me to change.

Posted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:46 pm
by zooloo
DandyP wrote:what's the deal with this logic plugin delay compensation thing i keep on hearing about?

even though i use cubase to be honest from speaking to professionals it seems logic is the way to go if starting from scratch.

I've been using cubase since 1994 though so it doesn't really make any sense for me to change.
Its an automatic latency adjustment that the application makes during playback to compensate for the latency that most plugins introduce.

Logic is the only Pro application that doesn't support full PDC across all the mixer channels... just to clarify, Logic only supports PDC on audio and instrument tracks ... DP, Cubase PT etc, all have full PDC.

The issue only really becomes a big problem if you use any 3rd party DSP cards like the UAD-1 or TC Powercore, as the plugins that run on these cards introduce huge amounts of latency (coz audio has to travel to the PCI (or firewire) bus and back again) and if you insert say a reverb onto a bus you get a fat delay between the orignal source material and the effect.. which has to be corrected by manually delaying the rest of the tracks to stay in time with the bus... sounds complicated I know... :shock:

z.